Pages - Menu

Chaitra Navratri2014-Chaitra Navratri Dates2014-About Chaitra Navratri-Chaitra Navratri Pooja-Importance of Chaitra Navratri-Celebration of Chaitra Navratri-Chaitra Navratri Images

Chaitra Navratri Dates2013

Chaitra Navratri is Nine Days Festival.

Ghatsthapana – Navratri Day 1 – March 31
Sindhara Dooj, Dwitiya - April 1,2013
Gaur Teej, Saubhagya Teej, Tritiya - April 2,2014
Varadvinayak Chaturthi - April 3,2014
Sri Laxmi Panchami Vrat, Naag Vrat Pujan - April 4,2014
Skand Shashthi, Yamuna Jayanti - April 5,2014
Mahasaptami Vrat, Chaiti Chath, Vijaya Saptami - April 6,2014
Sri Durga Mahaashtami, Annapurna Ashtami - April 7,2014
Chaitra Navratri ends – Ram Navratri Day 9 – April 8,2014

About Chaitra Navratri 

Chaitra Navratri, also known as Chait Navratras, as the name indicates is noticed during the Chaitra 30 days (March – April) in a conventional Hindu schedule followed in Northern Indian. Chaitra Navaratri 2014 starts during the month of March and finishes during the month of April. The event is devoted to Goddess Shakti and three of her most well-known forms– Goddess Durga, Lakshmi and Saraswati – are worshipped during the interval. It starts on the first day of the Chaitra 30 days and finishes with Ram Navami.

Navratri, the event of nine days night is devoted to Goddess Durga and her nine types. The nine days have excellent spiritual importance as Goddess Durga, the heavenly mother, had damaged the wicked power (in the way of the devil Mahisashura) during this interval.

Chaitra Navratri Pooja 

The starting of summer and winter season are two very important junctions of climatic. These two periods are taken as blessed opportunities for the worship of the Divine Mother. In Sanskrit language the word Navratri exactly means nine nights; Nava meaning Nine and Ratri means nights. During these nine nights and ten days, nine forms of Shakti are worshipped. Rishi Markandey that the first incarnation of Shakti was as Shailputri. Other incarnations of the Divine Mother are: Brahmchar├▒i, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri in that order. The festival of Vasanth / Chaitra Navratri (9 nights) begins on the first day of Ashwani of the bright fortnight. In the Navratri festival we are worship three days each devoted of Maa Durga, the Goddess of Valor, Ma Lakshmi, the Goddess of Wealth and Maa Saraswati, the Goddess of Knowledge. During the festival of Navratri feasting and fasting take preference over all normal daily activities amongst the Hindus. On the 8th and 9th days of Navratri, Goddess Durga, Vijay ashtami and Maha Navami are worshipped.
Importance of Chaitra Navratri 

Chaitra Navratri is one of the most important festival of Hindus.  Devotees worship Maa Shakti, Goddess of cosmic power, during this time and wish to be bestowed by divine benediction from Goddess. Fasting and praying mark the Navratri celebrations. Goddess Shakti manifests herself in three different dimensions as Goddess Laxmi, Saraswati and Durga. Navratri is divided into sets of three days to adore three different aspects of the supreme goddess or goddesses.

On the first three days Durga or Goddess of Energy is worshipped.The next three days are devoted to Lakshmi or Goddess of Wealth and the last three days for Saraswati or Goddess of Knowledge.  On the eighth and ninth day, Yagna (sacrifice offered to the fire) is performed to honor Durga Mata and bid her farewell. On these days Kanya Puja is performed. Nine young girls (those who have not reached at the puberty stage) representing the nine forms of Goddess Durga are worshiped. In some regions a young boy also accompanies them who symbolizes Bhairav, who is considered as protector against all evils. Those who worship Goddess without any expectation or desire being fulfilled receive her blessings as ultimate freedom from all bondages.

Celebration of Chaitra Navratri 
The event is famous with true commitment and cleanliness all over the country. People from various segments of the community regardless of caste and creed enjoy this event by viewing all the temples and doing the worshipping at the feet of women. In some locations unique Puja samarohas are also organized by establishing the pictures of Mom Durga on magnificently designed pandas. Temples devoted to Shakti also create an agreement for pujas and bratas to indicate these nine days as the real signs of commitment and appreciation towards the heavenly mother.
 Chaitra Navratri Images